Gordon Women's Cricket Club (GWCC) was formed in July 1982 with the amalgamation of existing clubs Mirrabooka and Pymble.

The Club's first Executive Committee included Jo Fitzsimmons as President, Prue Jacobson, Secretary and Elizabeth Amos, Treasurer. Founding players included Denise Annetts, Anna Gillespie, Sally Moffat, Marilyn Brown, Chris Brierley, Karen Price, Hilary Coolican and Angela Burroughs.

Three teams were entered into the Sydney Women's Cricket Association (SWCA) Competition in the 1982/83 season ' two in First Grade and one in Second Grade. In that season Denise Annetts (C) and Sally Moffat became Gordon's first representative players when selected in the NSW U-21 Team. The Second Grade team were runners-up losing the Final to Bankstown Sports.

The first AGM of GWCC was held at the old Gordon Rugby Club on 26 March,1983 and the first full Club meeting was held on 28 June, 1983.

During the 1983/84 season GWCC applied for affiliation with Gordon District Cricket Club and became known as 'Gordon District Cricket Club, Women's Division' (GDCCWD). The affiliation became official on 16 April, 1984 at a meeting of the NSW Men's Association. During this same season Karen Price became Gordon's first Australian representative when selected as Vice-captain for the tour of India.

How did we become affiliated? We have it on good authority that cousins Bob Thomas, member of the Men's Club, and Marilyn Brown, GWCC, were chatting one day when Bob suggested that the girls come down to Chatswood Oval and join the guys training sessions. This simple conversation resulted in the formation of what is now one of the biggest and most successful women's cricket clubs in the country!